Dear cold weather am warning you i’m not a fan!

woman-cold

In very few weeks I will be relocating to the coldest part of the country. the beautiful city of Musanze, It’s the most mountainous part of Rwanda and famous for sheltering mountain Gorillas , it’s also one of the most popular tourist destination in Rwanda.

Am going to be in Musanze for 4 months while i do my clinical. and before worrying about anything else am worried about the weather  am not a fan  of cold weather at all and am allergic. One of those beautiful advantages of living in east Africa is you are spared of cold. It’s always kind of warm and sunny even in the coldest seasons. When I hear people telling me about the weather getting under 0  in their countries and  i simply freeze. The coldest it can get here is around 17.2 degrees c. And there absolutely is no snow so what am I even crying about!

temperature-graph

January is the warmest month of the year. The temperature in January averages 18.2 °C. In May, the average temperature is 17.2 °C. It is the lowest average temperature of the whole year. (www.climate-data.org)

I was talking to a sweet old man from living in Cyprus and he was telling me how it gets really cold there. Along with giving me a few advises as to how to dress and keep warm. a hat, gloves, a coat socks, a scarf etc.. I have no idea how cold it is in doors but I can’t wear a scarf, and gloves and a heavy coat in the hospital it will just be a normal outfit and probably a sweater under my white coat.

I also have to admit that i hate over clothing honestly!  besides am a woman in her early twenties so what are you thinking about?? Most of my clothes make sure my skin gets enough sun and wind. and that makes me feel beautiful and happy. On the bright side i have been promised that the cold weather will do my skin some good so am waiting for that climate beauty.

These days i like to look at the unknown eagerly with positivity and great hope and as the summer approaches Musanze is like an hour from Gisenyi where I can enjoy the sunny and beautiful Lake Kivu, the beach the sand everythingrw155

(Photo source http://www.orwelltoday.com)

Am anxious about the whole experience of going to a new place. I am also excited of it all, getting to see another kind of life in another city, making new friends and getting inspired by a totally new environment. so i can’t wait!

do you also hate the cold weather? any tips on to how to survive in the cold weather?

love and blessings xx

 

16 thoughts on “Dear cold weather am warning you i’m not a fan!

  1. I live in southern Wisconsin, USA, where the winters are very cold. I don’t like bulky layers of clothing, so I resort to thin silk undershirts on the coldest days. They help with the cold and are barely noticeable.

    Stay warm and rich blessings your way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have lived in a few of the coldest states in the US, and what i found that helped the most was to get long under pants made of silk and a long sleeved silk top to wear under my regular clothing. it is soft, doesn’t cause allergic reactions and not bulky at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How exciting! I hope everything goes well with your move!

    Like other commenters have said, I live in a cold area in the US: during the winter the temperature often dips below 0 degrees Celsius. Sometimes it goes as low as 0 degrees Fahrenheit.

    Apart from wearing warm clothing, moving around a lot is a great way to keep warm. When I’m working/hiking outside in the winter I often have to remove layers of clothing because of how much body heat I generate. Also, eating foods that are relatively hard to digest (fatty foods or foods high in protein) helps to generate digestive heat that can make a big difference. I like to eat something right before bed because it helps warm me up enough to fall asleep.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aww thank you for the advise! i did not know about the food! so am probably going to be taking a great breakfast before going to the hospital, every morning! and also before bed have some food, so am probably going to get fat! since am going for clinicals there will be a lot of moving around the hospital so that will help with the warmth too thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I moved from New York to California for medical school. Even though I used to experience snow and cold winters, California has definitely spoiled me and now anything under 60 F feels like torture. I plan on wearing long sleeves under my white coat to keep warm. I also have worn long sleeve shirts underneath my scrubs which has really helped when it got a little cooler. I love your writing and you blog. Safe travels and I hope you enjoy your clinicals! -Trisha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Another medical student? am loving this definitely! thank you for sharing, am so glad to find someone who relates to what medical school is like! thank you am going to do just that and that means shopping because i don’t have any long sleeves in my clothes! the sun has spoiled me too and my wardrobe says it all !most of my clothes arent that warm if not short, too opened up etc..i hope i enjoy my clinicals am a little freaked out but am up for working hard and learning to make a great doctor someday! thak you Trisha xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

